The Souvenir Press Christmas Book Gift Guide 2020

15 December 2020

We are proud to publish book treasures for every shelf; non-fiction to help you grow, learn and live well.
Chosen by editor Calah Singleton, each of the books below would make a brilliant, thoughtful gift.

All books are available at your local bookshop or online via the links below.

For all our latest news and new non-fiction reads, join our newsletter and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

Happy reading!

THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU KINDER

Henry James Garrett

Utterly charming illustrations paired with the words of one of the most compassionate people around. Henry James Garrett is an absolute joy to read.

Buy your copy

THE ARTIST’S WAY + THE ARTIST’S WAY WORKBOOK
Julia Cameron

The Artist’s Way is a classic for a reason, and Souvenir has given it the shiny new look it deserves. The ultimate way to reconnect with your creativity and yourself after a difficult year.

Buy your copy

The Artist’s Way Workbook is the perfect companion to The Artist’s Way. The exercises are inventive, thought-provoking and charming – they make you think, feel and get to work. I do at least a couple every week.

Buy your copy

SOLO

Rebecca Seal

Could there be a more timely book? Rebecca Seal has written the essential guide to working from home. From tips for fighting loneliness to figuring out what meaningful work looks like for you, this book is helpful for life – not just lockdown.

Buy your copy

SHE COMES FIRST

Ian Kerner

This is a thoughtful and thorough guide to women’s pleasure, and I know several people who swear by it. Buy a few for your friends to strategically leave around the house. This book has seen a surge this year, so perhaps 2020 hasn’t been a complete loss…

Buy your copy

BUILD YOUR RUNNING BODY

Pete Magill, Thomas Schwartz & Melissa Breyer

As someone who is planning, as I do every year, to start running in January, reading this book has been immensely illuminating. It’s not just for serious runners! There are great tips for how to stretch, how to pace yourself, and even how to enjoy running more.

Buy your copy

DICTIONARY OF OMENS AND SUPERSTITIONS

Philippa Waring

For the witchy ones in your life, or really just anyone who is curious about what it means when your tea is very bubbly. Packed full of history and folklore, this book is a true delight.

Buy your copy

EVERYTHING ISN’T TERRIBLE

Kathleen Smith

This book is practical and also Very Funny – it’s been a great help with managing my anxiety this year. It has exercises, examples, and general advice for how to navigate the more anxiety-inducing aspects of life. A must-have for anyone looking to approach 2021 with a bit more zen.

Buy your copy

CHOOSE YOUR OWN MIDLIFE CRISIS

Marie Phillips

A choose-your-own-adventure book that had me laughing out loud. Polyamory, ayahuasca and Botox are notable features, but this book has something for everyone.

Buy your copy

THE BOOK ON THE TABOO AGAINST KNOWING WHO YOU ARE

Alan Watts

Alan Watts’ legendary book encourages us to view ourselves as part of a larger whole. In a year where we have been so apart, this philosophical classic reveals a deeper understanding of each person’s place in the world. It’s profound and uplifting.
JUMP ATTACK
Tim S. Grover
From the legendary personal trainer of Michael Jordan (yes, THAT Michael Jordan) comes a book full of exercises and workouts that will get you in shape in no time. You may not be an elite athlete (yet!), but you can still train like one. Perfect for fans of ‘The Last Dance.’