From Here to Infinity (Ebook)

Scientific Horizons

Martin Rees

A pithy exploration of the place of science in the 21st century from one of the world's greatest scientists, now the winner of the Templeton Prize 2011

The BBC Radio 4 Reith Lectures were given in 2010 by the Astronomer Royal, Professor Martin Rees. In this expanded version of the lectures (doubled in length with new material) Martin Rees shows how important science will be to the global economies of the 21st century, to solving some of our apparently intractable problems and to understanding the risks that the world faces.Science is often seen as difficult or obscure, but some great scientists (like the author) are so clear that we can all understand it and participate in the great debates that should concern us all whether they are about swine flu, global warming, oil running out, or even space travel.

In four dazzling chapters (plus introduction and conclusion) Martin Rees shows the pleasures and importance of science, warns all of us (including governments intent on cutting funding) why we must take science deadly seriously and why it apart from everything else it is so satisfying - one of humankind's greatest achievements.

Publication date: 28/04/2011


ISBN: 9781847657503

ISBN 10 / ASIN: B0065MBDH6

Imprint: Profile Books

Subject: Science & Mathematics

Reviews for From Here to Infinity

'Pithy explanation of the role of science in the global economy'

 The Times

'An absorbing summation of the state of science today'

 BBC Focus

Martin Rees

Martin Rees

Martin Rees is Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics and Master of Trinity College at the University of Cambridge. He was the President of the Royal Society until this year, and is the Astronomer Royal. A member of the House of Lords, he is a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is an honorary member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. His awards include the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, the Einstein Award of the World Cultural Council and the Crafoord Prize (Royal Swedish Academy).